@

 

 
   
Hong Kong Travel Guide

1 - INTRODUCTION

Originally Hong Kong was a fishing village. Due to the Opium War Hong Kong was ceded to UK in 1842. Various adjacent lands were added later in the 19th century. Overthrow the Qing Dynasty in 1911, booming immigrants from China has brought Hong Kong to become a textile & light-manufacturing city. Pursuant to an agreement signed by China and the UK on 19 December 1984, Hong Kong became the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region (SAR) of China on 1 July 1997. In this agreement, China has promised that, under its "one country, two systems" formula, China's socialist economic system will not be practiced in Hong Kong and that Hong Kong will enjoy a high degree of autonomy in all matters except foreign and defense affairs for the next 50 years.

2 - CAPITAL CITY

Hong Kong is a city of China PRC since July 1997. China 's capital city - Beijing ( Peking ) is about 2,000 kilometers (1,250 miles) further north. Hong Kong consists of Hong Kong Island , the Kowloon Peninsula , the New Territories and more than 260 Outlying Islands , totaling nearly 1,098 square kilometers (about 425 square miles). Central is the most important district where most government offices and International companies have their headquarters there.

3 - TIME ZONE

Time zone in Hong Kong is GMT + 8 hours.


4 - CLIMATE

Hong Kong has a subtropical climate:

Spring (March - mid-May): Temperature and humidity rising. Jackets or sweaters suggested. Average temperature: 23oC (73oF), humidity around 82%.

Summer (late May - mid-September): Hot and humid. Temperature may rise to 33oC (91oF) with humidity up to around 90%. Shirtsleeves, cotton clothing, a sweater for indoors and an umbrella for outside suggested.

Autumn (late September - early December): temperature and humidity drop. Clear sunny days. Shirtsleeves to sweaters and light jackets are suggested. Average temperature: 23oC (73oF), humidity 72%.

Winter (late December- February): Cool with low humidity. Suits, light woollens and sometimes overcoats suggested. Average temperature: 17oC (62oF), humidity 65%.

5 - LANGUAGE

Official language is English and Chinese, but Mandarin (Potunghua) - the official language of China is becoming increasing popular.

6 - RELIGION

Two ancient religions, Buddhism and Taoism have wide followings in Hong Kong . Their images are present in more than 600 Chinese temples. Other widely followed religions include Christianity, Catholicism, Islam, Hinduism.

Everyone is free to openly worship and support their beliefs with extensive services and facilities.

7 - T RANSPORTATION

Hong Kong has one of the most efficient and diverse public transport systems in any world city, incorporating an underground railway, light urban railways, buses, minibuses, ferries and trams.

The Mass Transit Railway (MTR) - view map
An underground railway network with six lines and 50 stations which provides a cross-harbour line. It operated by the Government-owned Mass Transit Railway Corporation.

An MTR Tourist Ticket, valid for two single journeys, is available at a cost of HK$35. The price of the pass includes a map and souvenir ticket. For visitors staying for a week or more it is worth getting the Octopus Card, a smart card that automatically deducts the cost of the journey when it is placed on a sensor. The card costs HK$150, which includes a refundable deposit of HK$50. Any other credit remaining is also refunded when the card is handed in. At present, the card may be used on MTR services, as well as on the Kowloon-Canton Railway, major bus routes, some minibuses and some ferries. Plans are underway to extend its use to other routes and means of transport as Hong Kong 's transport system becomes more and more integrated; it can also be used in convenience stores and branches of Starbucks.

The other railway line is the Kowloon-Canton Railway (KCR) , which consist of East Rail (from East Tsim Sha Tsui to Lo Wu), West Rail (from Nam Cheong to Tuen Mun) and the newly built Ma On Shan Rail (From Tai Wai to Wu kai Sha), has altogether 30 railway stations. The a loop line at the Sha Tin Racecourse will be operating on particular days which mainly caters for race-day traffic.

The Light Rail Transit System serving Tuen Mun and Yuen Long new towns and the network was extended to Tin Shui Wai New Town. The system comprises 119 single-deck light rail vehicles and 57 stops. The adult single fares range from HKD$4 to $5.8.

Buses are major routes run throughout the territory, with cross-harbour routes via the tunnel. However, small changes are required if passengers are not carried along with Octopus Cards.

Minibuses are Public Light Buses which can pick up passengers and stop on request (stand up and yell). Red minibuses are free to operate anywhere without control over routes or fares whereas Green minibuses are more regulated by fixed schedule and routes.

Trams are only available on Hong Kong Island . They are frequent and cheap, with a standard fare of HK$2.00 for the entire journey.

Peak Tram on Hong Kong Island is a cable tramway to the upper terminus between Central and the Peak . The 1.4 kilometers line runs with four stops en route, climbing 373 metres on gradient as steep as one-in-two. A single trip for adults costs HK$ 20.

Star Ferry terminals are through Tsim Sha Tsui and Central. The Star Ferry ride across Hong Kong harbour is a tourist staple, as well as the cheapest way to make the crossing (HK$1.70 per ride). Other ferry services also connect with the outlying islands of the territory and other destinations.

Taxis include Red urban taxis operate throughout Hong Kong (except Tung Chung Road and roads in south Lantau). During the first 2 kilometres, a fixed charge of HKD$15 will be complied and HKD$1.4 for each additional 0.2 kilometres of driving distance. Green taxis are fundamentally confined to rural areas in the New Territories and Blue Lantau taxis operate only on Lantau Island with HKD$ 12.5 as flatfall and each 0.2 kilometers for HKD $1.2 added for both of these taxis.

 

8 - DINING

Hong Kong 's cuisine is renowned for its exotic fusion of Eastern and Western flavors along with a wide variety of culinary delights. Travellers can get their flavors everywhere, mainly in Mong Kok, Causeway Bay , Tsim Sha Tsui and Kowloon City .

9 - SHOPPING

Hong Kong 's malls , department stores and designer boutiques offer an amazing contrast of goods.

Hong Kong during a sales period is a complete retail therapy course! During the winter (late December to February) and the summer sale (July to September) major discounts are available for the avid shopper. The Quality Tourism Services Scheme, developed by the Hong Kong Tourism Board, is a pledge of service excellence. Accredited establishments display this symbol of quality on their show windows.

 

10 - ENTERTAINMENT

A diversity spectrum of events, ranging from art, drama, music, traditional festivals, popular entertainment and international sports takes place every day in Hong Kong . Many seasonal events such as the Hong Kong Marathon, the Hong Kong Rugby Sevens, the Hong Kong Arts Festivals and the Hong Kong International Film Festival, World renowned trade shows - has earned Hong Kong the reputation as "the Events Capital of Asia".

11 - SIGHTSEEING

  • Enjoy Horse racing at the Happy Valley .
  • Take the Peak Tram to Victoria Peak
  • Visit Ocean Park with full of excitement
  • See a fortune-teller at Temple Street
  • Ride on a ferry to Cheung Chau Island
  • Come to the world's largest seated Buddha at Po Lin Monastery on Lantau Island
  • Get a religious culture and history at the Man Mo and Wong Tai Sin temples
  • Shopping at Stanley Market
  • Search the Space Museum , Hong Kong Science Museum , Hong Kong Museum of History, Hong Kong Museum of Coastal Defence and Madame Tussaud's Hong Kong

(For details of each sightseeing point, please refer to "Hong Kong Tour" in our web site.)

12 - TELEPHONE

For directory enquiries, dial 1081 (English) or 1083 (Chinese). Full IDD is available. Country code: 852. Outgoing international code: 001. Local public telephone calls can be made either with phone cards or coins. Local calls are free from private phones.

Mobile telephone: GSM 900, 1800 and CDMA networks provide coverage on the mainland and throughout the island.

 

13 - WATER

All tap water should be boiled before drink.

14 - ELECTRICITY

The electrical current in Hong Kong is 220 volts, 50 cycles alternating current (AC, 50HZ)

15 - TIPPING

10% of service charge is usually applied for most of fine dining restaurants and the loose change is regarded as an extra return for outstanding services. Also, taxi drivers, bellboys and doormen are expecting for a small gratuity, but only comply with satisfied service.

16 - CURRENCY

Currency: Hong Kong Dollar (HK$) = 100 cents. Notes are in denominations of HK$1000, 500, 100, 50, 20 and 10. Coins are in denominations of HK$10, 5, 2 and 1, and 50, 20 and 10 cents.

Currency exchange: Foreign currency can be changed in banks, hotels and bureaux de change. Banks usually offer the best rate of exchange. US$ 1 = HK$ 7.8 to $8.

Credit cards: MasterCard, American Express, Diners Club and Visa are widely accepted. Check with your credit card company for details of merchant acceptability and other services which.

 

17 - DO'S & DON'T'S

Do's - Hong Kong is full with freedom of speech and press. Everyone here enjoy a protection of the Basic Law which is justice.

Don't's - It is suggested not to buy from illegal hawkers or giving money to any beggars in Hong Kong .

 

18 - EMERGENCY TEL.NO.

Emergency Services (Police, Fire and Ambulance) 999

Immigration Department (24hr) 28246111

IDD and card phone enquiry 10013

Weather 1878066


19 - AIRPORT

Hong Kong International Airport (HKG)

It is operated in 1997, The Airport Express is a dedicated airport railway line providing fast and reliable service operating daily from 05:50 to 01:15 hours (last train departs from Airport and Hong Kong Stations at 0048 hour) at 10-minute intervals. It takes approximately 23 minutes to downtown. Free Shuttle Bus service between all major hotels and Hong Kong or Kowloon Station is also available from 06:00 to 11:00.

Besides, most hotels in Hong Kong provide shuttle bus service from and to the airport, normal fare per ride is around HK$ 100 to 140.

 

 
@


Address: 7-8 Tak Hing Street, Knight Garden Flat A 2/F, Jordan, Kowloon, Hong Kong

Phone: (852) 297 00888       Fax: (852) 297 00333

Copyright Hotel One, Hong Kong ( C ) 2005-2008

香 港 旅 遊 資 料

1 - 簡介

香港從前是一個小漁村。因為清朝時鴉片戰爭的關係, 香港成為了當時英國的殖民地, 而九龍半島和新界也在其後相繼割讓予英國管治, 並協議借用九十九年以後歸還 。在1911年滿清政府被推翻後, 大量的中國內地新移民湧入香港, 香港逐漸由小漁村變成一個紡織及輕工業發達的城市。 1984年12月19日在中英兩國協議下, 香港便於1997年7月1日回歸祖國並命名為 - 中國香港特別行政區。 在這條約約束下, 中國政府答應「一國兩制」的政策, 在未來50年內香港可自主地實行各種政策而不受中國政府的共產主義所幹與, 但此制度不包括對外及防禦的策略。

2 - 首都

香 港己於 1997 年 7 月回歸祖國並成為中國其中一個主要城市。 中國首都 - 北京距離香港以北約 2,000 公里 (1,250 英里 ) 。香港由香港島 , 九龍半島及新界區三個主要區域所組成 , 另包括周邊多於 260 個小島嶼 , 總面積達 1,098 平方公里 ( 約 425 平方英里 ) 。香港的中環區為重要的政府部門及國際機構總部的所在地。

3 - 時區

香港的時區比國際(格林威治)時間快8小時。

4 - 氣候

香港屬亞熱帶氣候:

春天 – (3 月至 5 月中 ): 氣溫與濕度上升。適宜穿著外套與長袖襯衫。平均氣溫大概攝氏 23 度 ( 華氏 73 度 ), 濕度約 82% 。

夏天 – (5 月尾至 9 月中 ): 炎熱及潮濕。溫度可上升至攝氏 33 度 ( 華氏 91 度 ), 濕度約 91% 。室外宜穿薄襯衫 , 棉質薄衣並帶備雨傘 , 室內宜加外套。

秋天 – (9 月尾至 12 月頭 ): 涼快與濕度下降。大部份是天睛。宜穿長袖 T ? 及外套 , 平均氣溫達攝氏 23 度 ( 華氏 73 度 ), 濕度約 72% 。

冬天 – (12 月尾至 2 月 ): 寒冷而乾燥。建議帶備長袖外衣 , 絨或棉衣及厚外套。平均氣溫約攝氏 17 度 ( 華氏 62 度 ), 濕度平均 65%.

5 - 語言

官方語言為英語及中文 , 但國語 ( 普通話 ) - 中國的官方語言亦逐漸普遍。

6- 宗教

兩個古代宗教, 佛教及道教在香港最為盛行, 這從座落香港的六百多間寺廟可見一斑。 其他宗教如基督教, 天主教, 伊斯蘭教及印度教亦頗多信眾。
在香港, 每人也可自由地選擇自己的信仰及利用現有的服務和設施去支援自己的信念。

7 - 交通

香港有著世界大城市的快捷和多完化的公共交通網絡 , 配合完善的地下鐵路 , 輕鐵路線 , 巴士 , 小巴 , 渡輪及電車行走各區。

地下鐵路 - 路線圖
1979年後期開始行駛, 現時擁有6條行車線及50個站並提供一條過海路線的地下鐵路, 它是由政府管理的地鐵公司所承辨。

地鐵的遊客車票每張可乘兩程地鐵, 車費只是港幣35元, 並包括一份地鐵及紀念車票。若果遊客會於香港停留多於一星期的話,建議各下可於地鐵站內購買一張面值150元的八逵通卡, 其中50元是按金,可於交還卡時作退款,另外100元作乘車時用。只要把卡放在入閘的感應器上,便會自動扣除每程車費,如全部總額用完後還可到附近便利店及Starbucks 分店增值呢!真是方便又易用。更可用於不同交通工具如九廣火車鐵路, 巴士, 小巴及小輪上。

火車鐵路
另一條主要文通鐵路為九廣鐵路, 分別為九廣東鐵(連接尖東至羅湖)及九廣西鐵(連接南昌至屯門), 連同新啟用的馬鐵(連接大圍至烏溪沙)共有30個車站供客運用途, 於賽馬日更有特別車開往沙田馬場。

輕便鐵路
限行駛於新界西北區 , 分別連接屯門及元朗等新市鎮 , 並伸延至天水圍。此鐵路由 119 輛單卡列車及 57 個站組成。成人單程車費界乎港幣 4 至 5.8 元。

公共巴士
主要公共巴士路線己覆蓋整個城市 , 乘客可乘座海底隨道巴士互通香港島和九龍半島。若果沒有八達通卡的話 , 切記備適量輔幣。

小巴
小型公共巴士可隨處上落客 ( 不包括禁區 ), 只要客人向它招手上車或揚聲下車便可。紅色小巴可隨意行駛 , 沒有固定路線及車資。相反 , 綠色小巴則有特定路線和車資。

電車
要在香港島才能找到電車 , 它的班次比較頻密 , 車資也很便宜 : 一般車費界約港幣 2 元。

山頂纜車
位於香港島的山頂纜車是一輛由電纜加路軌的上下山列車 , 貫穿中環至維利亞山頂 , 全程共有 4 個站 , 總長度為 1.4 公里 , 以 1 比 2 的斜度駛上 373 米的山上。成人車費約港幣 24 元。

天星小輪
天星小輪往來尖沙咀及中環碼頭 , 於維多利亞海港上乘坐小輪遊覽是遊客的樂事。亦是目前往來海港最便宜的交通工具 ( 每程約港幣 1.7 元 ) 。此外 , 亦有其他渡輪服務連接對外相近的島嶼。

計程車 ( 的士 )
計 程車 ( 的士 ) 包括紅色的在市區內行駛 ( 也可通往東涌道及大嶼山以南的道路 ), 首兩公里固定車費為港幣 15 元 , 其後每 0.2 公里加收港幣 1.4 元。綠色的在郊區如新界等地行走 , 藍色的只於大嶼山行駛 : 它們的車費都是首兩公里固定車費為港幣 12.5 元 , 其後每 0.2 公里加收港幣 1.2 元。

8 - 用膳

因為歷史背景的關係使香港變成一個華洋共處的社會, 而飲食文化亦同樣精彩。在香港, 無論是中國南北菜式或世界各地的美食, 都可以找到相關的食肆, 精緻的菜色雲集中西合壁的口味, 並以種類繁多、 應有盡有見稱。從辛辣的四川料理到精緻高貴的法國美食, 旅客都可隨心地去選擇。 正正因為香港繁多的美食, 令香港素有「美食天堂」的稱譽。

9 - 購物

香 港所有大型商場, 百貨公司及名店提供的貨品多不勝數。 每年的冬季( 12月尾至2月)及夏季(7月至9月)大減價更是遊客掃貨的良機。為此, 旅遊業議會舉辦了一個優質旅遊服務計劃來界定服務標準, 如商店門外貼上「優」字的標誌, 便代表它所賣的貨品是信心的保證。

10 - 娛樂

香港每日也會舉辦不同的大型節目包括藝術、音樂、戲劇、巡遊、運動等, 當中亦有季節性活動如香港馬拉松、國際七人欖球賽、香港藝術節及電影節, 各類貿易展等。所以這裡又被稱為「亞洲盛事之都」。

11 - 觀光

  • 到快活谷觀賞賽馬
  • 乘山頂欖車上維多利亞山頂
  • 遊覽刺激的海洋公園
  • 在廟街看面相手相
  • 乘坐渡輪往長洲
  • 到大嶼山寶蓮寺觀賞世界最大的佛像
  • 到文武及黃大仙寺參拜
  • 在赤柱大街閒逛
  • 遊覽太空館、香港科學館、香港藝術館、香港海防博物館

(另外,關於各旅遊景點的詳細資料,可參考本網之”香港旅遊觀光”部份。)

12 - 電話

日常查詢可直撥 1081(英文) 或 1083(中文)。 國傺長途話通用, 地區字頭為 852, 海外撥入要在前加 001。本地公用電話可插卡或入輔幣, 而用私人電話撥本地號碼是免費的。

13 - 食水

任何自來水需要煮沸才可飲用。

14 - 電力電壓

電壓為 220 伏持 , 50 周交流電。

15 - 小費

許多酒店及餐廳會收取百分之十的服務費, 不用找續的零錢會作為額外的小費。計程車司機、酒店行李生及守門人也會希望收到小費作為熱心服務的獎勵。

16 - 貨幣

幣值 : 港幣(HK$) 1元 = 100仙 。紙幣幣值有: HK$ 1000, 500, 100, 50, 20 和10 。 輔幣幣值分: 10, 5, 2 和 1元, 另有5毫, 2 毫 及 1毫。

對換方法 : 可在銀行, 酒店及外幣找換店對換。但銀行會提供較好的對換價, 大約美金1元可換7.5/7.7元港幣。

信用卡 : 萬事達卡, 美國運通卡等信用卡都通用。請向有關服務站查詢信用卡應用資料。
旅遊支票: 流通於各大型商店, 酒店和餐廳。為避免對換率時常改變, 最好選擇英鎊或美金的支票。

17 - 注意事項

香港有言論與宗教自由。詳情可參考基本法條例。

建議最好向有信譽的商店購物, 不應助長無牌小販及行乞者橫行。

18 - 緊急聯絡電話

緊急服務 : (警察, 消防局 和 救護車) 999
入境處 : (24小時) 28246111
長途及插卡電話查詢 : 10013
天氣報告 : 1878066

19 - 機場

香 港 國 際 機 場
位於赤臘角的新機場於1997年落成, 從機場往來市區最快捷的方法是乘搭機場快線, 由早上 05:50 至凌晨01:15, 每10分鐘一班, 來往中環只需23分鐘。每天早上6時至晚上11時亦有機場快線穿梭巴士服務, 免費接載乘客往返香港站, 九龍站, 主要酒店及交通要點。另外多間酒店亦有提供穿梭巴士服務, 直接送旅客由機場到酒店, 但視乎酒店的遠近來決定車費, 一般由港幣100至140元一程不等。

 
 
 
 


地址: 香港九龍尖沙咀德興街7-8號禮苑大廈A座二樓     

電話: (852) 297 00888       傳真: (852) 297 00333

版權所有一酒店 ( C ) 2005-2008